Columbine Pass Frequently Asked Questions
Why won't I be able to get the Columbine Pass at any park?
State Parks rely on user fees as their primary source of funding; therefore, it is important that the Columbine Pass be properly administered. Eligibility for the Columbine Pass must be accurately determined by administrative staff. Temporary park workers at a crowded entrance gate cannot quickly and accurately process the Columbine Pass application without unnecessarily delaying other visitors.
I thought State Parks already offered some passes for disabled park visitors?
That's true. State Parks currently allows free daily park entrance for any Colorado vehicle that has disabled veteran license plates. The qualified veteran must be in the vehicle at the time of entry. This policy will not change.
I have a National Park Service disability pass. Can I use it for State Park entry?
No. The criteria for passes offered by other agencies and organizations varies. We cannot investigate the criteria for each of these passes. However, documentation from any of the four sources cited above is acceptable and is quite simple to obtain.
Are permanently and totally disabled youth eligible for the Columbine Pass?
Yes. A permanently and totally disabled child who meets the criteria is eligible.
Must I apply for the Columbine Pass each year?
The Columbine pass is valid for 12 full months from date of purchase. A renewal postcard will be mailed to current pass holders approximately one month before the pass is due to expire. If you wish to renew your pass for the coming year, you will need to return the postcard along with a check or money order for $14.00 payable to Colorado State Parks.
How is the Columbine Pass used?
The Columbine Pass is valid for park entrance when the individual to whom the pass was issued is a passenger in any vehicle entering the park. The pass must be displayed from the rear view mirror and be visible through the front windshield of the vehicle at all times while within the park.
Will the Columbine Pass offer free camping for disabled individuals as well?
The Columbine Pass was supported by legislators as a way to provide the benefit of reduced entrance fees to permanently and totally disabled Colorado residents. Columbine Pass holders who are 64 years of age or older will receive the camping benefits available to Aspen Leaf Pass holders..
I have a Colorado Disabled Veterans License Plate. Will I receive special camping benefits?
No. The law for individuals with Disabled Veterans license plates provides free entrance to state parks and does not provide special camping rates. If you are 64 years of age and a Colorado resident, you may opt to purchase the reduced-fee Aspen Leaf Pass (with special camping benefits) or apply for the Columbine Pass.
Return to Columbine Pass Information Page