Boating Rules and Regulations
Refer to the 2013 Boating Statutes & Regulations for current laws and regulations regarding boating in Colorado.
The changes to Colorado's Boating Under the Influence (BUI) law has taken effect!
On August 5th, 2008, Colorado's law on Boating Under the Influence (BUI) was greatly strengthened as the changes from the 2008 legislative session went into effect.
These changes include:
Drinking and boating can be just as dangerous, if not more so, than drinking and driving. This is because in addition to the negative affects on judgment, vision, balance, coordination and reaction times associated with alcohol consumption, water creates an even more hazardous environment due to the: motion of the boat and waves, wake and current; vibration of the boat; noise from motors; sun; glare; wind; and spray. Also keep in mind that boats are a lot different from vehicles since they steer from the rear, they have no brakes and there is no designated lanes or traffic control devices.
Whatever you decide to do for fun this summer, please remember to be safe and don't booze & boat!
Did You Know?
A BUI can be punishable by a year in jail, a loss of boating privileges for 3 months, fines up to $1000 and 96 hours of community service?